Skip to Main Content

The site navigation utilizes arrow, enter, escape, and space bar key commands. Left and right arrows move across top level links and expand / close menus in sub levels. Up and Down arrows will open main level menus and toggle through sub tier links. Enter and space open menus and escape closes them as well. Tab will move on to the next part of the site rather than go through menu items.

Hall of Fame


About the Florida Youth Soccer Association Hall of Fame

Established in 1987, the FYSA Hall of Fame recognizes individuals who have excelled and made a significant contribution to the youth soccer community across the Sunshine State. A person is identified for their promotion of the sport to the soccer community/general public, have contributed to the growth of the game in Florida, and set exemplary standards as a role model for future generations. These pioneers have forever shaped the the game of soccer and will be remembered in the years to come.

Information on all of our inductees is provided in the list below. If you would like to nominate an individual for Hall of Fame Induction, the nomination form opens every spring. All new inductees are honored during the Annual General Meeting.

Joe Boffa
Inducted 1987

Don Gurney
Inducted 1988

Mack Alarcon
Inducted 1989

Ray Thompsett
Inducted 1990

Lou Confessore
Inducted 1992

Terry Darby
Inducted 1994

Hugh Wilcox
Inducted 1995

Gunther Charles
Inducted 1996

William Sheldon
Inducted 1997

Elton Cook
Inducted 1999

Frank Bankowitz
Inducted 2001

Bill Goaziou
Inducted 2001

Joe Davis
Inducted 2001

Suzy Reno
Inducted 2002

Ray Wells
Inducted 2002

Diane Dotten
Inducted 2003

Donna Hackworth
Inducted 2003

Jon Steinweg
Inducted 2004

Dr. Tom Fleck
Inducted 2005

Arther Turpel
Inducted 2007

William "Mac" Shepard
Inducted 2011

Michael Ray
Inducted 2012

Myrna Foster
Inducted 2013

Virgil Stringfield
Inducted 2015

Barb Newton
Inducted 2017

Tommy Thompson
Inducted 2018

Wayne Martin
Inducted 2019

Dean Frost
Inducted 2019